Men don’t like chores.

I love it when stuff like this and the Science! It’s a girl thing! ad come out.  Most sexism is so insidious it’s hard to convince anybody to take a second look at it.  Sometimes convincing people that policing what little girls wear or that women in America getting woefully little maternity leave are problems is like bashing my head against a wall.  The frustratingly complacent masses would mostly rather believe that sexism is over.  So it’s really nice when somebody forgets themselves and gets all blatant about it, then goes to their boss with this blatantly idiotic idea and nobody notices, then goes and implements the idea in grocery stores where the managers and employees don’t or won’t notice.  Then it gets in the news.  Can’t deny it, sorry.  Here it is.  A little slice of sexism.

Introducing: the MAN AISLE.

From the NYPost article, some lovely quotes.

“Guys don’t like taking lists when they go shopping,” Zoitas added.  “This helps them remember what they need.”

“I think it’s a great idea,” said Andy Huber, 23, of Harlem. “I don’t like to spend much time in the grocery store, so having this aisle makes things much easier for me.”

Cause, y’know, women love taking lists and spending tons of time at the store.  At the end of a long, hard week at work, all I can think of is how I can finally take a load off, get a glass of wine, and take an inventory of my kitchen and bathroom.  Who needs parties and free time when I can mill around the detergent aisle and breathe in all the fun?

I think the sexism here is pretty obvious, but I’m too exhausted from my most recent vacation at my local Albertsons and can’t be bothered to write any talking points, so here is some high comedy for you:

Shopping is gathering.  Women are gatherers and men are hunters and therefore women are better suited to shopping.

Shopping is hunting.  Men are hunters and women are gatherers, so shopping would be a lot of fun for men if the girls would get out of the way.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

